It’s not entirely out of the question to send hundreds of text messages in a day, especially if you’re part of a large group conversation. With so many messages going back and forth, you can be expected to make a mistake or two.
Usually though, this is not a problem. The recipient can make minor grammatical errors, and if you send a message to the wrong person, you can usually follow up with a simple “sorry” and all is well. So it is not.
Sometimes a text message error can get you in trouble or lead to embarrassment, that’s why you should be able toWhich you’ll finally be able to do with iOS 16.
do not miss:
Apple announced these new texting features for the iPhone just in timein June. Other new features coming to iPhone include And the . SharePlay is added to messages.
We’ll explain how these two new texting features work. And if you want to explore iOS 16 now, before the public release, here it ison your iPhone and iPad.
Edit messages you’ve already sent
If you use messaging tools like Slack, you’ve likely edited at least one – or 100 – of the messages you sent. Whether you misspelled or your message contains incorrect data, the edit feature is a great way to make your corrections quickly. With iOS 16, you will also be able to edit your sent messages from your iPhone within 15 minutes of sending.
To edit a text message, you’ll need to turn on Messages and go to any thread that uses iMessage, which you probably know by blue text. This feature will not work with SMS text messages (green texts). Now, tap and hold your finger on the message you wish to edit. This will bring up the Tapback Feedback and Quick Actions menu. Finally, tap release.
The text message will then be editable. You can delete the entire message, fix any errors, or add more text to it. Once finished, Click the blue check mark button on the right side to save your changes. You can only edit one message up to 5 times.
An executable editor button will appear below your edited text message. The person on the other end will also know that the message has been edited, and if they click on it Editedall previous versions of your text message will appear above the modified text message, in light gray chat bubbles.
Immediately recall any messages you sent by mistake
Unintended messages occur quite often. Perhaps you clicked the submit button when you meant to select an emoji. Or maybe you just texted the wrong person. Either way, you’ll be able to recall these messages using iOS 16. Other than the message editing feature, you only have 2 minutes to unsend a text.
To cancel sending a text messagelaunch the Messages app, tap and hold the message (blue text only) you want to unsend, then tap Undo Send.
The text message will disappear from your conversation thread, by you and the recipient. A message will appear in your thread, stating that your message was not sent, but the recipient may have already seen it.
Unfortunately, if the other person is running anything older than iOS 16, the message will not actually be unsent even though your phone will say so.
The recipient will see a gray text status message that says, “[Name] Unsend a message” if they’ve already seen the text. This is similar to the delete message feature that apps like WhatsApp and Signal already have, which also display a similar message after the text has been recalled.
While you’re waiting for these new features to arrive, check out what’s new. Also, here .